SFN Election Nomination Meeting 2017

Date and Time: 
Tue. Oct. 24/17 06:00 PM to 09:00 PM

A meeting of the electors of the Snuneymuxw First Nation will be held at the SFN Administration Building, 668 Centre Street, Nanaimo, British Columbia, on Tuesday, 24 October, 2017 between the hours of 6:00 p.m. and 9:00 p.m.

The purpose of the meeting is to nominate candidates for one (1) chief and five (5) councillors for the next four-year term, commencing 2 February 2018.

You must be a registered Snuneymuxw member and 18 years or older as of 2 December 2017 (the date of the election) in order to nominate, to be a candidate, or to vote.

  • Candidates must be ordinarily resident within the SFN Candidacy Area.
  • You may nominate in person at the meeting or by mailing or delivering nomination forms to the Electoral Officer. Mail-in nominations (including those that are hand-delivered) must include the signed and witnessed Voter Declaration Form. You may copy the blank nomination form if you wish to nominate others. Please note you can only nominate one person for Chief and up to five persons for Councillor. Each form must be signed by you and witnessed.
  • Mail-in nomination forms must be received in the post office by 4:30 on Tuesday, 24 October. Hand-delivered (to the SFN Office) nomination forms must be received by the Electoral Officer before the close of the nomination meeting at 9:00 p.m. in order to be valid.


Nominees with a criminal conviction within the past five (5) years are not eligible to hold office.

If you are nominated on 24 October 2017, you will have three (3) days until 4:30 p.m. on Friday, 27 October 2017 to submit a copy of your criminal record check and the Candidacy Acceptance Form to the Electoral Officer (Section 9.9 SFN Electoral Code). Nominees who fail to meet this deadline can not be a candidate in the election. Copies of the SFN Electoral Code are available at the SFN Administration Office. Candidacy Acceptance Forms are available from the Electoral Officer.

The term is expiring for one (1) Chief and five (5) councillors.

The following councillors will continue in their positions until 2 February 2020: Douglas White III, Stacey Jean (Kate) Good, Regan Seward, Isaac Thomas, Doug White II.


Maggie M. Paquet, Electoral Officer

Post Office Box 130, Station A

Nanaimo, BC  V9R 5K4

Phone: 250-723-8802, toll-free: 1-855-586-8683   email: maggie_paquet@telus.net